I Hope You Like Red!

img_4202

Ah. The return of the generic training recap photo. I didn’t take many photos at all last week, to be honest. No reason, just not in a snapping mood. So, what’s with the cryptic title? Why do I even care if you like red? Confession: I don’t. Last week, I didn’t train quite the way I should have, so – you guessed it – there were a lot of red boxes in my Training Peaks account last week.

Normally, I’d just get frustrated with myself and eventually get over it, but I’m less than a week out from my A race for the season, and I shouldn’t have dicked around last week like I did, even though it was unintentional. Cue: a string of excuses. Once again, my Lactate Threshold Heart Rate Test did not go to plan. I was pretty crabby about that for the rest of the evening on Tuesday. Then, we had a friend over for dinner on Saturday. I slept in a little, and completely underestimated the amount of time it would take to clean the house and prep dinner. Dinner resulted in too much wine, which botched my workouts for Saturday (and Sunday, to some degree).

Skip my last big brick workout before my goal race? Sure! Why not? What could possibly go wrong? Nothing, you say? Fantastic.

Someone tell me a story about a time when their training was sub-optimal, but they executed their goal race perfectly. Don’t all come at me at once, now. Okay. Here’s the deal: I’m not as nervous as I thought I would be at this point. I talked to my coach today, and even she observed that I was pretty calm. Surely, that’s a good thing?

Anyway, here’s the half-assed week I just spent a couple hundred words going on about. Judge for yourselves. Or don’t.

Monday

2850m swim: A whole lot of 400s in today’s set! For some reason, my watch added 50m. Even withstanding that, this was a personal distance record for me!

Tuesday

Lactate Threshold Heart Rate Test: We meet again, old friend. While I got further this time than my last attempt, I wasn’t able to continue past 6.5 minutes. I’d like to blame the humid conditions outside, but I just barrelled off at a pace that was unsustainable and couldn’t keep up the required effort to finish the test. Womp.

Wednesday

3000m swim: YAHOO! This was unexpected. I was swimming right to the bitter end of practice, but I finished the entire workout for my second distance record in as many days. I completely surprised myself. I thought this would be a nice comeback to set myself up for a solid remainder of the week. Spoiler alert: Nope.

35.2km ride: In the evening, I did my interval workout. When I programmed my workout, I wondered why the power targets were so high. Ha. Zwift was working with my brand new FTP, and setting my power zones from it. Challenge accepted. My intervals were hard work. Duh. Really, Courtney? I was dripping sweat by the end of it, and was finally able to get my heart rate up on the bike. Winning!

Thursday

45 minute run: Me run fast someday. Kidding. But I did run fast. I was exhausted at the end, and was so pleased with my effort, in fact, that I decided to skip my strength work after because I was so damn tired and had a monster headache. You can see where this is going.

45 minutes strength

Friday

Rest. Glorious, glorious (scheduled) rest day.

Saturday

1:45 ride

30 minute run off the bike

See bag of excuses above. I was slightly angry with myself on Saturday for skipping this. Then I thought I would do the brick the next day. Then I drank a whole bunch of wine and came close to writing Sunday off. Sometimes I’m not the brightest crayon in the box.

Sunday

75 minute run

30 minute open water swim

20km ride: In my delicate condition, I first had visions of doing my brick workout. Then I decided to just do the long ride. Then, when I started riding, I decided that I couldn’t go further than 20km. While still adjusting to my new power zones, I was working harder than my brown bottle flu could sustain. So, I called it quits at 20km. Better than no km, I suppose.

Screen Shot 2017-07-17 at 10.09.40 PM

Behold! Just a big ol’ rainbow going on up in here! I kid. That’s too much red. For real.

Swim: 5,850m/2:13

Bike: 55.4km/1:38

Run: 10.3km/0:56

Strength: 0:00

Total Time: 4:47

Tsk, tsk. As much as I’m tsk-ing myself, though, you gotta admire that swim mileage from me. 😉 My very first 3km swim, and I almost got to 6km for the week. That’s a huge amount of swimming for me. I plan to write all about my experience with long course swimming once I’ve fully settled into my new group, but for now, I’ll just say that it’s made a really big difference in a small amount of time.

Could I have done more last week? Absolutely. But I didn’t. While I admit that sounds rather flippant, I don’t really have time to keep beating myself up this week. There might be time for that next week after the race. Or the race might go really well, which might reinforce my lax attitude towards training. Just kidding.

In any event, the next time you’ll hear from me, it will be next week with a race recap after the Toronto Triathlon Festival. Have a great week, friends! Good luck to those of you racing at TTF and beyond!

2 thoughts on “I Hope You Like Red!

Leave a Reply

