Taking the Plunge?

img_4202

Yeah, yeah. Go ahead and groan, but there really is no other title that is more appropriate. I’d like to tell you that I’m still riding the high of last weekend’s race (again! I’m on fire today!), but in truth, I’ve been lacking energy this week.

I am trying (yet again) to make some positive changes to my nutrition game, so I made a commitment to track absolutely everything for a week. That fell by the wayside after a day or two. I’m just not mentally in a place anymore where documenting everything that goes into my mouth is an appealing (or healthy) activity. I think I probably eventually need to enlist the help of a nutritionist/dietician, but it’s been an expensive month with moving, and we have some travel coming up (both racing and fun!), so that will have to wait. The good news is, I’ve actually been craving healthy foods lately, so that’s a step in the right direction.

I digress.

Despite being less energetic than usual, my mind is totally revved up! Since last weekend, the wheels have been turning (okay, I promise I’ll stop. For real.) and I’ve been batting around the possibility of doing a 70.3 race next year.

I know what you’re thinking. I won’t even tackle the olympic distance until later this summer. Why am I thinking ahead to next year already? I should just be focusing on what I’ve got in front of me. Point taken. However, I would argue that having an idea of what some of my long-term goals are can be beneficial for my training right now. It’s always nice to have a “someday” driving you, and helping you push through that final interval of your workout when your race day visualizations aren’t cutting it.

I’ve also been pretty open about the fact that I want to tackle another full marathon next year, so I’m not sure how well those two will play together, if at all. I’m not sure which I would choose if I had to prioritize one over the other, so there are lots of things to consider in this equation.

All this might be void if I don’t do well at the olympic distance in August, but right now, I’m trying to find a way to seriously consider both events. I’m not sure if I would do a spring marathon and a fall 70.3, or vice versa. If anyone has had experience doing both in the same calendar year and has suggestions for me, I’m all ears. 🙂

Anyway, that’s what has been going through my little endurance sport brain. Here is what my training looked like last week: 

Monday

1900m swim: Today’s workout consisted of some solo 500s

45 minutes strength: I had no good reason for skipping this, really, aside from being tired after my swim and wanting to finish writing my Rose City race report. 🙂

Tuesday

1 hour ride: You may have heard me discuss my struggles with changing my bike tires in the past. Since a different tire is required for my trainer and racing season has started, the tire change is happening more frequently. I’m not the handiest person. Sometimes the tire is completely changed within 10 minutes; other times, it’s a multi-attempt affair. This week, it was the latter, so off to the gym I went to tackle my brick workout. The spin bikes at this particular gym had no computers, so I have no cadence, distance, or speed data. Instead, for the parts of my workout that called for a specific power range, I kept my HR in the corresponding zones. It wasn’t perfect, but it got the job done. I was a sweaty mess by the end.

10 minute run: Immediately after my ride, I hopped on the treadmill for 10 minutes.

Wednesday

7.4km run: A 45 minute easy run. I had some new shoes to take out for a spin, and I finally got out to explore my new neighbourhood on foot. I continue to be amazed by how hilly it is up here. Lots of rolling hill and gradual inclines. I’m looking forward to all the strength I’ll build running outside consistently. It’s been some time since I’ve done a training run longer than 15-20 minutes outside, and it was humid! I keep forgetting how long it takes the body to adjust to running outside in the humidity.

40 minutes strength: I got right down to it after my run. I’m still not a fan of burpees, but they’re a necessary evil. 😉

Thursday

29.4km ride: Zone 4 intervals. These were incredibly sneaky. The first few felt ‘easy’ and then all of a sudden, they felt like a lot of work. It felt great to conquer them.

Friday

Rest. Glorious, glorious (scheduled) rest day.

Saturday

42.6km ride: Today was supposed to be the day I tried clipping in outside. It was spitting rain off and on outside and I’m still being a wimp. I know what I need to do, I just can’t pull the trigger. I’m afraid of wiping out and hurting myself. Send help, please.

3.65km run: Following my race, I was curious how well I could run by feel off the bike. Per my coach’s instructions, I covered my watch and just ran for 20 minutes. It was *awful* and when I got home, I realized that I ran an average of 5:29/km. That’s quite fast for me, and I struggled through the humidity. It’s a good indicator of the conditions I’ll face on race day, so I’m glad I stuck it out.

Sunday

60 minute run: Another hot, soupy run. I won’t complain, though, because before you know it, it will be -30 and snowy AF again. I slapped on some sunscreen, and left a lot later than I should have. I set off on a different route, and ran in some really pretty parts of town, and I have many more to explore. As I mentioned before, my new neighbourhood and the surrounding areas is much hillier than anywhere else I’ve lived in the city. I had to focus on slowing down to keep my HR in check, and not going out of control trying to barrel up the hills. I actually cursed out loud a few times, though, because the area is new to me for running, so every hill that I came upon was a surprise. I reached the top of Hogg’s Hollow with 2 minutes to go, though, and you better believe I ran down that sucker as fast as my roasted legs could carry me.

IMG_5083

Not Hogg’s Hollow, but a small sampling of what I encountered.

1836m swim: Solo 200s at the small saltwater pool. Good end to the week!

 

Swim: 3,736m/1:33

Bike: 117.2km/3:34

Run: 22.4km/2:15

Strength: 0:40

Total Time: 8:02

There you have it. The post-race week of training was stronger than I thought it would be. I’m one week closer to TTF, and things are still coming along. This week coming up is a big one! It’s test week! I’ll redo my FTP test this week (using Zwift), and also my lactate threshold heart rate test to see if my running zones need adjustment. The latter has been something that I’ve struggled with. You may recall that I’ve attempted this test twice in the past, and have been unable to finish it. Here’s hoping this is the week to get it done properly!

On Friday, I’ll be heading to a cottage with a couple of my girlfriends for the weekend, and we’ll be doing the Kincardine Women’s Triathlon on Saturday! I’m excited to get away for the weekend. It’s been a long time since I’ve had a ladies weekend away and it’s a new place that I’ve never been. More to come!

2 thoughts on “Taking the Plunge?

    • I can’t tell you how rewarding it was so run DOWN it at the end. I’m thinking about running Goodlife in the spring now, since I’m close enough to practice hillwork on it all. the. time. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

