You’ve Got This

Soooooooooooo…

Welcome back, me! In case you missed it, things have been pretty bananas around these parts. When I last wrote, we were gearing up for a big move. I’m really happy to say that our move went smoothly. I took a solid week off training. Zero exercise for 9 days. The week after, I eased back into things, but didn’t put any additional pressure on myself. Last week, it was on and I focused on getting in all my workouts in advance of the race, and I’m happy to say I was successful!

Instead of recapping training while the move was happening (there really wasn’t much), I wanted to give myself a bit of a pep talk tonight. I confessed on Facebook last week that I was feeling less than prepared for my upcoming race on June 24. My friends and coach quickly took me to task, and reminded me of all the hard work I have already put in. One of my friends, Heather, jokingly commented that I should write a blog post about it and, well, here I am. As always, my friends and coach were incredibly supportive, but I wanted to focus on just one comment that was particularly helpful from Kat.

It may have had something to do with the move-related stress, but about a week before we moved, the reality that I would be racing a triathlon pretty soon set in. Something clicked, and I started freaking out. I have been training for 7 months now, and the fitness I’ve built is comforting, but thinking about actually executing a race has been shaking me up a little.

Pre-race jitters are totally normal, I know, but there was something about putting together all three disciplines that I’ve been training for threw me for a loop.

 

My friend, Kat, summed everything up nicely:

“Please turn off the expectations tap immediately. You’ve done this before, it’s the first race of the season in an ice bath, you’ve got this.”

My coach confirmed that we would be using the Rose City sprint this weekend to test the proverbial waters, and see what needs adjusting before the Toronto Triathlon Festival on July 23, which is my major goal race for this season.

I’m having some doubts about the swim, of course. I’m getting concerned that the water will be too warm for a wetsuit, and I also have not been in the open water yet. However, as Kat said, it’s time to take it down a notch, and not put so much pressure on myself, especially for a race that isn’t my A goal race.

For what it’s worth, I kicked ass on the training front last week. 9 glorious hours of solid training. I’m as ready as I’m going to be at this point.

Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 7.26.00 PM

When you hear from me next, it will be a race report. Here’s hoping I have some good training news to share next week! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

