Training Recap Week 8

img_4202

This week was the last full week of training before Around the Bay this coming Sunday. With no other races or special workouts on the schedule, I focused on consistency and eating well. I would say I stuck pretty closely to those goals, with the exception of one run that was cut short. Here’s what I was up to this week:

 

Monday

1600m swim: I did a little more volume than usual at practice today. We focused on 300m sets today and I was fairly consistent.

Tuesday

25km ride: The weather was pretty terrible outside, and I didn’t want to take my chances with the sidewalks, so we moved things around a bit, and I did my ride on Tuesday. Since I’ve been riding with Zwift again and focusing on my power output, I did a portion of the ride into Zone 3, and building into Zone 4.

40 minutes strength: I did my usual strength training routine after my ride. I was slightly more energetic than I usually am when I do my strength training post-run.

Wednesday

2000m swim: Whoa! For the first time in swim practice, I hit 2000m! I was swimming right until the bitter end, but it felt good. Today’s practice was focused on 500s.

4km run: This was supposed to be an 8km easy run. I went to a local Running Room to get some more information about a Ragnar Relay that I’m running in May with some friends, and I joined the local run group. It was either a short, easy run or hill repeats. You can guess which one I chose. 😉

Thursday

8km interval run: For today’s interval run, I went to the track near our house. For as long as I’ve been running, I’ve had a mental block towards the track. Since I’ve been gaining confidence on the run lately, I decided to see if I could overcome my fear of track running. I did 10 intervals in Z4, and they were all within range! It felt good to tackle them, and I finished strong.    

Friday

Rest. Glorious, glorious (scheduled) rest day.

Saturday

1875m swim: When I first saw what was expected of me for my endurance swim, I questioned my ability to complete it. I had 10 sets of 100s, each descending. These types of workouts occasionally cause me anxiety. Although there’s not usually as much riding on these workouts as I think, I have an intense fear of failure with speed-based workouts. I build it up in my mind, which can negatively impact my efforts. I tried to push that aside today, and told myself I would just do what I could do. I picked the 100s off, one by one, each just a hair faster than the one before, and left the pool feeling pretty darn proud of myself. Peacock moment of the week, for sure. Bonus: I did not forget my post-swim snack. Winning.

37km ride: Building on the momentum from my swim, I did my long ride once I got home, which included some longer blocks of work building through my power zones. It was a sneaky burn.

Sunday

18km long run: Ah, the last long run before Around the Bay next weekend. I dragged my feet on this a little bit, and the first few kilometres were not kind to me. Luckily, Ryan ran with me for the first 5km and helped me get in the zone. We chatted about our upcoming races, the beautiful weather we were having that day, and before I knew it, he was turning around to head home and I was feeling much better heading into the rest of my run. I had one last run up Mount Pleasant, across Eglinton, and down the rollers on Bathurst. My pace was pretty solid for a week out from the race, and I was able to turn it up a little for the last bit.

40 minutes strength: Although my run left me feeling race-ready and confident, the last thing I wanted to do when I got home was my strength workout. I was fatigued big time, and felt like I was just going through the motions.

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 3.55.58 PM

Swim: 5475m/2:15

Bike: 62km/2:21

Run: 30km/3:08

Strength: 1:14

Total Time: 9:19

I don’t really have a whole lot to say, except that I’m feeling ready to race. I had a phone call with my coach this week, and we started to talk a bit about my race plan. I’ve laid out my A, B, and C goals. Right now, I’m concentrating on visualizing myself powering up those hills. The race is 6 days away, and my typical race week behaviours are surfacing.

I fully recognize that I cannot control the weather on race day, but that doesn’t stop me from looking obsessively at the forecast to prepare myself mentally (and to choose the right race day clothes, of course). I’ve started thinking about which pre-race meals and breakfast options have served me best over this training cycle. I’m trying to get lots of sleep this week, with the most focus on Friday night’s sleep. I was not careful with my nutrition today, but I will be keeping myself in check for the rest of the week to make sure I’m properly fuelled for the race.

At this point, there is nothing I can do to improve my fitness. I’ve put in a lot of quality work this winter. Training has not been perfect, but it almost never is. I can honestly say that I fully committed to this goal, and I’m ready for whatever happens on Sunday. I’m feeling optimistic, but still a little scared and nervous about reaching my goal. I hope I’m writing my recap next week with good news of a shiny new PB.

Have a great week, friends!

Anyone else running Around the Bay this weekend? 

Leave a Reply

