Training Recap Week 6

img_4202

What a week! So many things to be happy about in this week’s training: I pulled off some amazing PBs in swimming, had a really positive experience with running intervals (it usually gives me a ton of anxiety), AND I had a great race today! Here’s what I got up to over the last week:

 

Monday

1325m swim: Today, I got my individual feedback from last week’s filming. As I suspected, there are a few key points in my swim stroke that need work. To avoid becoming overwhelmed, my coach is going to have me work on one or two things at a time, starting with the timing of my stroke (I’m windmilling at the moment), and body rotation.

Tuesday

10km run with intervals: My first set of intervals in nearly a year! I was curious to see how HR training would factor into interval training – would I run intervals by pace or HR zone? It was the latter, and running intervals by HR actually took all the pressure off, and I was able to run all my intervals without issue and I wasn’t too far off last year’s paces, actually.

40 minutes strength: Post-run strength training tonight went better than it has in a while. I’m starting to hit my stride with this particular routine.

Wednesday

1050m swim: Time trial day again! We did our 400m and 50m time trials today. Holy crap, what an improvement! I got PBs in both my distances: my 400m went from 10:44 to 10:11, and my 50m went from 63s to 59s. My 100m CSS dropped from 2:46 to 2:37. I’m thrilled with these improvements in just one month!

34km bike: A long, low cadence ride with big blocks of low cadence work. Really got my sweat on with this one!

Thursday

9km run: An easy Zone 2 run on the schedule in advance of Sunday’s race. I was attending a nutrition seminar through the triathlon club, so I did my run, and finished at the seminar. It was c-o-l-d outside tonight.

40 minutes strength: After the seminar, I had to do my strength once I got home. I must confess, I was not feeling this workout at all. I was cranky and tired, and took more shortcuts than I care to admit, but there’s no point in dwelling on it.

Friday

Rest. Glorious, glorious (scheduled) rest day.

Saturday

1500m swimI had a bit of a health scare this morning, so my swim got cancelled. I had a suuuuuuuper long nap and a big bowl of spaghetti and meatballs for dinner to get some extra iron. I was fully prepared to scrap Sunday’s half marathon if I wasn’t feeling 100% when I woke up on Sunday. Health > races. Always.

Sunday

21.1km run: Chilly Half Marathon! I woke up this morning feeling much better than I thought I would. I had a decent night of sleep on Saturday night, paired with the big nap and meaty meal, and I was ready to at least attempt the race. This was meant to be a dress rehearsal for Around the Bay in just 3 weeks, and I was able to execute it almost perfectly. It is certainly is deserving of a post of its own, and I’ll write all about it very soon.

img_4679

 

Swim: 2375m/0:57

Bike: 34km/1:30

Run: 40.5km/4:09

Strength: 1:13

Total Time: 7:49


How was your week of training? Did anybody else race the Chilly Half Marathon?

Leave a Reply

