Training Recap Week 3

img_4202

Monday

1300m swim: Lots of focus on shorter work today. I’d say that short, fast swim sets are not my forté, but I have a feeling it will be a while before I can claim that anything swimming-related is my forté. 😉

Tuesday

23.1km ride: This was a scheduled run day, but after an ice storm made the walk home treacherous and I didn’t even feel safe venturing out of the house to get to a treadmill, I opted for an episode of Game of Thrones and a low cadence ride.

40 minutes strength. After my ride, I did my circuit workout at home. I picked up a pair of 5 lbs. dumbbells at SportChek last weekend, so I’m able to kick my strength training up a notch without fancy gym machines and equipment. Ever try weighted wall sits? They’re a burner, for sure.

Wednesday

1372m swim: You might be thinking, “Hmmm…this isn’t a multiple of 25. How did she swim this distance in a 25m pool?” Actually, you’re probably not thinking that at all. You probably hadn’t even noticed. I digress. I slept poorly enough that I hit snooze and missed swim practice. I was able to hit the pool at lunch, which I’m rarely able to do, so I took advantage of a quiet lunch swim at the yard pool.

6km run: I had an evening meeting to wrap up that big conference that I talked about last week, so this run happened much later than I’m used to running. It was scheduled to be 8km, but I was feeling really run down, on the verge of sickness, and I wasn’t shaking that feeling on the run. My calves were tightening, as well, and since I live in fear of re-injuring myself, I cut it short.

Thursday

11km hill runNope.

40 minutes strength: Double nope.

That near-sick feeling had not subsided. By this point in the week, I was so exhausted that even getting out of bed was a challenge. I’m trying to listen to this old bod and honour it when it tells me to rest, so I did just that. I had a monster nap, a bath, stretched, and did some foam rolling.

Friday

Rest. Glorious, glorious (scheduled) rest day.

Saturday

23km long run: Longest run since the Chicago Marathon in October 2015!!! I was feeling human again and prayed to the run gods to let me pass this time. Success! At around the 5-6km mark, my foot started to hurt a bit. I immediately panicked, but the pain magically subsided and I finished my run without incident. I was feeling pretty great for most of the run, and I even felt a bit like my old running self.

Sunday

1900m swim: Endurance solo swim. This was my longest swim ever! I know I said that last week, but it’s true! You might have to relive this excitement with me again soon. It’s like Groundhog Day. 🙂

24.3km ride: For the second week in a row, I hit the pool before I did my ride. This order of events has been working well for me, and I think I’ll keep it up.

Swim: 4572m/1:51

Bike: 47.4km/2:00

Run: 29km/3:14

Strength: 0:37

Total Time: 7:44

 

Well, this was another week that didn’t go quite to plan. In retrospect, I probably dove back into my weekend workouts last weekend too quickly after the conference, which left me fatigued heading into the week. I’ve learned that lesson, and will definitely factor it into my game plan for the conference next year.

What is most troubling to me at this point is that I’ve missed my hill workout three weeks in a row. Since my goal race is quite hilly, I’m a little worried. I have not been secretive about the fact that of all my workouts, I’m the least motivated about running right now. Will I be able to run 30km on a challenging course in less than 6 weeks? We’ll see. I’m trying not to think too far ahead. This week, I’m trying to focus on keeping my diet (relatively) in check and making sure I’m getting enough sleep.

On we go, friends.

How was your training last week? Is anyone else running Around the Bay?

Leave a Reply

